# **ANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

# Meeting Minutes for the Executive Committee

Sunday, June 16, 2024 – 12:30-14:00 PDT Hybrid meeting

Mandalay Bay Las Vegas Banyan F and virtual attendance URL

Attendees (voting members): 9 voting members are present, either in person or by proxy.

Attendees: Hash Hashemian (ANS), Benjamin Kalish (US Navy), Bob Lebo (Boeing), John Mattingly (North Carolina State University), Morris Hassler, Darryl Rizzo (ANS), Rebecca Steinmann (Constellation), Mikaela Streicher (University of Colorado - School of Mines)

# **Officers**

| Name            | Office     | e-mail                | Present? |
|-----------------|------------|-----------------------|----------|
| Stefani Buster  | Chair      | srbuster@gmail.com    | Yes      |
| Shikha Prasad   | Vice Chair | shikhapr@gmail.com    | Yes      |
| Angela DiFulvio | Secretary  | difulvio@illinois.edu | Yes      |
| Michael Willis  | Treasurer  | willismj@ornl.gov     | Yes      |
| Chloe McMath    | Past Chair | cmcmath@lanl.gov      | No       |

### **Members**

| Name              | Term        | e-mail                         | Present? |
|-------------------|-------------|--------------------------------|----------|
| Kyle Beardsley    | 2023 - 2026 | kyle.beardsley@duke.edu        | No       |
| Bill Boettcher    | 2021 - 2024 | william_boettcher@ncsu.edu     | No       |
| Stefani Buster    | 2021 - 2024 | srbuster@ncsu.edu              | Yes      |
| Angela Di Fulvio  | 2021 - 2024 | difulvio@illinois.edu          | Yes      |
| Daniela Henzlova  | 2022 - 2025 | henzlova@lanl.gov              | No       |
| Lloyd Jollay      | 2023 - 2026 | ljollay@bgs-llc.com            | No       |
| Madeline Lockhart | 2023 - 2026 | mllockha@ncsu.edu              | Yes      |
| John Mattingly    | 2021 - 2024 | jkmattin@ncsu.edu              | Yes      |
| Chloe McMath      | 2021 - 2024 | cmcmath@lanl.gov               | Yes      |
| Camille Palmer    | 2023 - 2026 | camille.palmer@oregonstate.edu | Yes      |
| Shikha Prasad     | 2022 - 2025 | shikhapr@gmail.com             | Yes      |
| Chris Robinson    | 2022 - 2025 | Chris.robinson@pxy12.doe.gov   | Yes      |
| Athena Sagadevan  | 2022 - 2025 | athenaas@lanl.gov              | No       |
| Alicia Swift      | 2021 - 2024 | Alicia.Swift@cns.doe.gov       | No       |
| Will Tobey        | 2021 - 2024 | whtobey@gmail.com              | No       |
| Michael Willis    | 2022 - 2024 | willismj@ornl.gov              | Yes      |

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Voting members include the 2024 Executive Committee Officers and the Immediate Past Chair.

# **ANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

#### Call to order

Call to order at 12:30 PDT and establishment of the guorum.

#### Review of the Minutes

The minutes of the meetings on November 12, 2023, and February 28, 2024, were approved unanimously.

#### **Election results**

The 2024 elected division officers are:

Angela Di Fulvio (Vice Chair); Camille J. Palmer (Secretary); R. Chris Robinson (Treasurer).

The 2024 elected executive committee members are:

• James Wm. Behrens, Sunil S. Chirayath, Thomas E. Hanlon, Morris E. Hassler, Emma Houston, Lloyd J. Jollay, and George (Geordie) E. McKenzie.

### Treasurer's report

The treasurer, Michael Willis, reported on the budget, which was approved in June. Student support of \$1000 is still available.

# Vice chair's report

The vice chair, Shikha Prasad, stated that webmaster support is needed due to a change in the ANS web platform. She highlighted that our membership has increased from 570 to 760 members, partly due to the recent topical webinars and the NNPD sessions at past ANS meetings. Current efforts are ongoing to organize a panel of experts entitled "Student Research to Inform the Nonproliferation and Safeguards Regime," at the 2024 ANS Winter Conference and Expo.

### Technical Program Committee (TPC) update

John Mattingly and Morris Hassler reported on the presence of the NNPD at the 2024 ANS Annual Conference, where the NNPD hosted three sessions. The submission deadline to the ANS Winter Meeting 2024 is July 1st.

The TPC Chairs will collect topics from the members for the ANTPC topical meeting embedded in the 2025 ANS Winter Conference.

#### Other business

Darryl Rizzo, the ANS Director of Development, and Daniel Goldberg, the ANS Director of Programs, discussed potential NNPD participation in developing certification programs and encouraging contributions to the fund, which ranges from \$2,000 to \$4,000. This fund aims to promote the profession and make certification accessible to underserved and underrepresented communities, including newcomers to the nuclear field. Certificate course programs, which are typically 32-40 hours in length, are being developed, starting from the Nuclear 101 Certificate Course. Future course topics are open for discussion. Participants who complete the module will receive a certificate and earn credit for continuing education. The NNPD Technical Program Committee will review the content of the certificate program and determine the division's level of financial commitment.

# **MANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

John Mattingly led the discussion on an article in the *Science* magazine critical of the HALEU fuel cycle. He volunteered to spearhead the effort from NNPD on a response to the article.