ANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

Meeting Minutes for the Executive Committee

Sunday, November 12, 2023 – 13:00-15:00 ET Washington Marriott, Washington DC, hybrid (in-person and virtual) attendance

Attendees: 16 voting members are present, either in person or by proxy¹. Other attendees: Jim Behrens (NNPD technical program chair) and Jonathan Balog (Pennsylvania State University ANS Student Chapter and technical chair of the 2024 ANS student conference)

Call to order

Stefani Buster called the meeting to order at 13:06 ET. Introduction of the attendees.

Approval of the Minutes

The minutes of the meeting on June 12, 2023, were approved unanimously.

Chair's report Stefani Buster

The chair reported on strategies for the divisions to attract new members, including the removal of the \$10 fee to join the division and the extension of K12 programs.

Technical Program Committee update

Jim Behrens

The NNPD technical program chair reported on the success of the Advances in Nuclear Nonproliferation Technology and Policy Conference (ANTPC 2023), embedded in the 2023 ANS Winter Conference, showcasing over 70 abstract submissions and drawing 400 attendees, alongside the presentation of the plenary Eisenhower medal.

2024 ANS Student Conference

Jonathan Balog

The technical chair of the 2024 ANS student conference presented the activities planned for the 2024 ANS student conference "Keystone of Tomorrow," to be held April 4-6, 2024, at Pennsylvania State University. The three-day conference will showcase keynote speakers from the nuclear industry and beyond, plenary sessions, tours of nuclear facilities and campus laboratories, and The Keystone to a Clean Future Panel Series, featuring industry and academia panelists discussing topics such as Nuclear in Space, Advanced Technologies for Reactor Deployment, Medical Isotopes, Microreactors, and more.

Vice chair's report Shikha Prasad

The vice chair reported that the NNPD membership enrollment trends show a slight decline. The division needs to be on the lookout to treat it as an opportunity to reinvigorate interest in the activities of the NNPD. Future efforts to increase membership will include increasing physical operation/industry involvement in NNPD.

¹ Voting members include the 2023 Executive Committee Officers and the Immediate Past Chair.

ANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

Secretary's report Angela DiFulvio

Nothing to report.

Treasurer's report Michael Willis

The Treasurer reported on the revenues and expenditures of the NNPD, with a balance of \$29,590 as of 6/30/2023. The itemized budget was shared with the EC members, totaling \$1,696 in expenses and \$484 in revenue. The budget proposed for 2024 amounts to a balance of \$30,386, with \$1,250 in expenses and \$968 in revenue. The reported 2023 budget and proposed 2024 budget were approved unanimously.

Other business

Morris Hassler reported on the approval of the ANS Position Statement #55, titled "Nonproliferation," by the Public Policy Committee of the ANS. This updated statement, issued in 2023, supersedes its predecessor from 2008.

Chair Stefani Buster adjourned the meeting at 14:00 ET.

Officers

Name	Office	e-mail	Present?
Stefani Buster	Chair	srbuster@gmail.com	Υ
Shikha Prasad	Vice Chair	shikhapr@gmail.com	Υ
Angela DiFulvio	Secretary	difulvio@illinois.edu	Υ
Michael Willis	Treasurer	willismj@ornl.gov	Y
Chloe McMath	Past Chair	cmcmath@lanl.gov	Υ

Members

Name	Term	e-mail	Present?
Kelsey Amundson	2020 - 2023	kamundson5@gmail.com	Υ
Kyle Beardsley	2023-2026	kyle.beardsley@duke.edu	Υ
Bill Boettcher	2021 - 2024	william_boettcher@ncsu.edu	Υ
Stefani Buster	2021 - 2024	srbuster@ncsu.edu	Υ
Sunil Chirayath	2020 - 2023	sunilsc@tamu.edu	N
Shaheen Dewji	2020 - 2023	sdewji@tamu.edu	N
Angela Di Fulvio	2021 - 2024	difulvio@illinois.edu	Υ
Morris Hassler	2020 - 2023	morris.hassler@cns.doe.gov	Υ
Daniela Henzlova	2022 - 2025	henzlova@lanl.gov	Υ
Lloyd Jollay	2023-2026	ljollay@bgs-llc.com	N
Madeline Lockhart	2023-2026	mllockha@ncsu.edu	Υ
John Mattingly	2021 - 2024	jkmattin@ncsu.edu	Υ
Chloe McMath	2021 - 2024	cmcmath@lanl.gov	Υ
Camille Palmer	2023-2026	camille.palmer@oregonstate.edu	Υ
Shikha Prasad	2022 - 2025	shikhapr@gmail.com	Υ
Chris Robinson	2022 - 2025	Chris.robinson@pxy12.doe.gov	Υ

MANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

Athena Sagadevan	2022 - 2025	athenaas@lanl.gov	Υ
Alicia Swift	2021 - 2024	Alicia.Swift@cns.doe.gov	Υ
Will Tobey	2021 - 2024	whtobey@gmail.com	Υ

Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division Website and Social Media Information

Website: http://nn.ans.org/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/ansnntg/