## **SANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

### Meeting Minutes for the Executive Committee

Friday August 30, 2025 – 17:00 PDT Virtual Teams Meeting

Attendees (voting members):<sup>1</sup> 9 voting members are present, either in person or by proxy.

Attendees: Sunil Chirayath (ORNL), Angela Di Fulvio (UIUC), Tom Hanlon (Y-12), Daniela Henzlova (LANL), Emma Houston (UTK), Lloyd Jollay (BGS), Madeline Lockhart (NCSU), Camille Palmer (OreSU), Shikha Prasad (SLB), Chris Robinson (Pantex/Y-12),

#### Officers

| Name            | Office     | e-mail                         | Present? |
|-----------------|------------|--------------------------------|----------|
| Shikha Prasad   | Chair      | shikhapr@gmail.com             | Yes      |
| Angela DiFulvio | Vice Chair | difulvio@illinois.edu          | Yes      |
| Camille Palmer  | Secretary  | camille.palmer@oregonstate.edu | Yes      |
| Chris Robinson  | Treasurer  | Chris.robinson@pxy12.doe.gov   | Yes      |
| Stefani Buster  | Past Chair | srbuster@gmail.com             | No       |

#### Members

| Name                      | Term | e-mail                         | Present? |
|---------------------------|------|--------------------------------|----------|
| Kyle Beardsley            | 2026 | kyle.beardsley@duke.edu        | No       |
| James Wm. Behrens         | 2027 | jwbehrens@comcast.net          | No       |
| Sunil Chirayath           | 2027 | chirayathss@ornl.gov           | Yes      |
| Angela Di Fulvio          | 2027 | difulvio@illinois.edu          | Yes      |
| Thomas Hanlon             | 2027 | hanlonte@gmail.com             | Yes      |
| Morris Hassler            | 2027 | morris.hassler@ib3global.com   | No       |
| Daniela Henzlova          | 2025 | henzlova@lanl.gov              | Yes      |
| Emma Houston              | 2027 | ehoust10@vols.utk.edu          | Yes      |
| Lloyd Jollay              | 2027 | ljollay@bgs-llc.com            | No       |
| Madeline Lockhart         | 2026 | mllockha@ncsu.edu              | Yes      |
| George (Geordie) McKenzie | 2027 | georgemckenzi4@gmail.com       | No       |
| Camille Palmer            | 2026 | camille.palmer@oregonstate.edu | Yes      |
| Shikha Prasad             | 2025 | shikhapr@gmail.com             | Yes      |
| Chris Robinson            | 2025 | Chris.robinson@pxy12.doe.gov   | Yes      |
| Athena Sagadevan          | 2025 | athenaas@lanl.gov              | No       |
| Michael Willis            | 2025 | willismj@ornl.gov              | No       |

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Voting members include the 2024 Executive Committee Officers and the Immediate Past Chair.

## **SANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

#### Call to order

Call to order at 5:00 EDT/2:00 PDT and establishment of the quorum.

#### **Review of the Minutes**

The minutes of the meetings on June 16, 2024, were approved unanimously. (Pending correction of terms of EC member list)

#### Treasurer's report

Shikha and Chris Robinson reported on the budget and budget requests.

- Shikha Prasad discussed the request for \$2,000 for student support for conferences. This being greater than past years and proposed two \$500 scholarships, one for the annual meeting and the second for the ANTPC, totaling \$1,000.
- Tom Hanlon removed the TPC request for publications as proceedings will be digital.
- Emma Houston discussed the upcoming request for \$500 student support for the student conference.

Accounting for the noted discussion, the total budget requested for the upcoming year is \$2,000: -

- \$500: Scholarship ANS Student Conference
- \$500: Scholarship ANS Annual Meeting
- \$500: Scholarship ANTPC 2025
- \$500: Plaques and Awards

#### Discussion on Certification

There is request from ANS to support the review of the new nonproliferation module created for the new certification program.

Lloyd Jollay and Chris Robinson volunteered to review the nonproliferation module and slides for NNPD. This is in addition to Sunil Chirayath's initial offer.

#### Technical Program Committee (TPC) update

Tom Hanlon reported on ANTPC 2025 planning, planned to be embedded in the 2025 ANS Winter Conference.

The November 2024 ANS Winter Conference includes 4 sessions: 2 panels and 2 technical sessions

- Panels: Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy: Morris Hassler and Student Research to Inform the Nonproliferation and Safeguards Regime: Chairs: Camille Palmer, Marek Flaska, Organizer: Shikha Prasad
- Technical Sessions: Science, Engineering, and Technology in Support of Nonproliferation Policy: Margaret Arno, Nick Luciano and Safeguards and Security Challenges in Licensing Small Modular Reactors: Sunil Chirayath, Manit Shah

# **SANS** Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

#### Other business

- Madeline Lockhart has been working hard on website updates! NNPD will have a new LinkedIn profile and ANTPC page to help distribute information and centralize information.
- The Committee discussed preferred meeting times for the EC Meeting, General (member) Meeting, and TPC Meeting as to not overload the Sunday afternoon prior to the Winter Conference. The consensus was to hold a virtual EC meeting in October and an earlier-day General Meeting on Sunday of November Winter Conference.
- Two letters were crafted jointly by ANS Fuel Cycle and Waste Management Division and the ANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division in response to *Science*. ANS submitted a short letter to the *Science* magazine Editor-in-Chief, signed by ANS President Lisa Marshall. A second open letter, for Nuclear News, was embargoed at the time. There was discussion on how NNPD could provide public media response in the event there are questions about HALEU fuel cycle and the letters. It was decided that NNPD would take requests from ANS on a case-by-case basis.
- Five nominations are needed for the EC for the upcoming year, in addition to Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer positions. Email Shikha Prasad or Stefani Buster to nominate (including self nominations) by 8/31/24.