ANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

Meeting Minutes for the Executive Committee

Wednesday, February 28, 2024 – 15:00-16:00 ET virtual meeting

Attendees (voting members): 10 voting members are present, either in person or by proxy. Other attendees: Daniel Goldberg (ANS Director, Membership, Marketing & Communication)

Call to order

Stefani Buster called the meeting to order at 15:00 ET. Introduction of the attendees.

Review of the Minutes

Approval of minutes of the meeting on June 12, 2023, was deferred.

Technical Program Committee update

Stefani Buster on behalf of Jim Behrens

The NNPD technical program chair reported on the success of the Advances in Nuclear Nonproliferation Technology and Policy Conference (ANTPC 2023), embedded in the 2023 ANS Winter Conference, showcasing over 70 abstract submissions and drawing 400 attendees, alongside the presentation of the plenary Eisenhower medal.

Report on ANS headquarter initiatives

Daniel Goldberg

Daniel Goldberg reported on the ANS initiative to develop a certification program. The program will address the growing demand for qualified professionals in the nuclear industry. A survey will be conducted to learn about the tasks performed by professionals in the field. The certificate course program will feature entry-level and advanced courses on nuclear regulation.

Suggestions for additional courses are welcome and can be directed to dgoldberg@ans.org.

Treasurer's report Michael Willis

The Treasurer reported on the revenues and expenses of the NNPD for 2023. As of December 31, 2023, the balance stands at \$32,145. The total revenue for 2023 amounted to \$4,174 (comprising dues and ANTPC), while expenditures totaled \$2,831. A proposed budgeting item includes a potential award for students, which will be submitted to the Executive Committee and voted on in June.

Vice chair's report Shikha Prasad

The Vice Chair reported a slight decline in NNPD membership enrollment trends. This situation should be viewed as an opportunity to reinvigorate interest in NNPD activities. Future efforts to increase membership will focus on enhancing physical operation and industry involvement in NNPD. These initiatives will be formalized in writing and further discussed and approved at the next meeting. Suggested efforts to increase membership include increasing members' involvement in technical meetings and engaging the membership to elicit nominations for NNPD Executive Committee members.

¹ Voting members include the 2024 Executive Committee Officers and the Immediate Past Chair.

ANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

To increase NNPD visibility and engagement, the Vice Chair has organized a members-only webinar scheduled for March on the development of a US-based used nuclear fuel recycling pilot facility. This webinar will be presented by SHINE Technologies' Chief Technology Officer, Ross Radel.

Secretary's report Angela Di Fulvio

The secretary updated the division's website to include the current list of officers.

Chair Stefani Buster adjourned the meeting at 16:00 ET.

Officers

Name	Office	e-mail	Present?
Stefani Buster	Chair	srbuster@gmail.com	Υ
Shikha Prasad	Vice Chair	shikhapr@gmail.com	Υ
Angela DiFulvio	Secretary	difulvio@illinois.edu	Υ
Michael Willis	Treasurer	willismj@ornl.gov	Υ
Chloe McMath	Past Chair	cmcmath@lanl.gov	Υ

Members

Name	Term	e-mail	Present?
Kelsey Amundson	2020 - 2023	kamundson5@gmail.com	Y
Kyle Beardsley	2023-2026	kyle.beardsley@duke.edu	Υ
Bill Boettcher	2021 - 2024	william_boettcher@ncsu.edu	Υ
Stefani Buster	2021 - 2024	srbuster@ncsu.edu	Υ
Sunil Chirayath	2020 - 2023	sunilsc@tamu.edu	N
Shaheen Dewji	2020 - 2023	sdewji@tamu.edu	N
Angela Di Fulvio	2021 - 2024	difulvio@illinois.edu	Y
Morris Hassler	2020 - 2023	morris.hassler@cns.doe.gov	Y
Daniela Henzlova	2022 - 2025	henzlova@lanl.gov	Y
Lloyd Jollay	2023-2026	ljollay@bgs-llc.com	N
Madeline Lockhart	2023-2026	mllockha@ncsu.edu	Υ
John Mattingly	2021 - 2024	jkmattin@ncsu.edu	Y
Chloe McMath	2021 - 2024	cmcmath@lanl.gov	Y
Camille Palmer	2023-2026	camille.palmer@oregonstate.edu	Y
Shikha Prasad	2022 - 2025	shikhapr@gmail.com	Y
Chris Robinson	2022 - 2025	Chris.robinson@pxy12.doe.gov	Y
Athena Sagadevan	2022 - 2025	athenaas@lanl.gov	Υ
Alicia Swift	2021 - 2024	Alicia.Swift@cns.doe.gov	Υ
Will Tobey	2021 - 2024	whtobey@gmail.com	Υ

Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division Website and Social Media Information

MANS Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division

Website: http://nn.ans.org/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/ansnntg/