

Meeting Minutes for the Governance Committee<sup>1</sup>

June 7, 2015 – 3:30-4:30 pm

Grand Hyatt San Antonio – Room Crockett A/B

San Antonio, TX

#### 1. Call to Order

Chair Morris Hassler called the meeting to order. No introductions were made because they had been made during the meetings immediately prior to this one.

### 2. Approval of November 9, 2014 Meeting Minutes

Secretary Lenka Kollar decided to defer the approval of the meeting minutes from last meeting because they were not complete. Kollar was absent from the last meeting and will collect input from the Governance committee to complete the meeting minutes.

#### 3. Report of the Chair

Chair Morris Hassler states that he is looking forward towards where the new Division is headed. The membership going up, there were 641 members last year and now we have 687 members in the Division. This includes 191 are students, which is down from the previous year, but non-student membership is up. We should also look into breakdown of international members. The new ANS IT system will be live in July, so we will have much better access to membership data. Overall society membership is down as a whole, including attendance at conferences. We have an opportunity to lead the drive to increase overall membership due to interest level in nonproliferation.

#### 4. Report of the Vice-Chair

Vice Chair Gene Carpenter also congratulates the committee on the new Division. The new Division should be a point of contact for congressional staff on nonproliferation issues. ANS has asked us to do a webinar this fall on the topic of nonproliferation, which we need to plan. We should also coordinate with Craig Piercy on the congressional outreach session on nonproliferation.

## 5. Report of the Secretary

Secretary Lenka Kollar updates the committee on the status of the website, which has been changed to reflect the new Division name. Kollar will work with ANS staff to update the website according to new ANS standards, after which the officers page will be updated to reflect the new officer changes.

Voting members consist of the 2015 Executive Committee, Officers, and the Immediate Past Chairman.

#### 6. Reports from Student Conference Committee

The 2015 student conference at Texas A&M had over 500 students and about 100 professionals. Overall, it was a successful conference. The next (2016) student conference will be at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The theme is about being a critical member of the nuclear industry, based on the four factor formula. They are looking for entrepreneurs in the industry to judge the entrepreneurship session, which is new to student conferences. The preliminary sponsorship package was also presented.

#### 7. Report of ANS Immediate Past President

Past President Don Hoffman notified the committee that he is the General Chair of next meeting in November and that there will be a heavy focus on policy. We will be inviting both pro- and antinuclear attendees. Another ANS initiative is to include nuclear science and technology in decision-making at the state level. In addition, congratulations to the Division on the first national meeting as a Division.

## 8. Report of the Treasurer

Alicia Swift, in place of Treasurer Shaheen Dewji, states that there is currently \$2778 in the budget. The division was not charged for the newsletter, which was previously allocated in the budget. Scholarships will now come out of interest, so will look into how that affects us, however it seems irrelevant for a new division.

#### 9. Technical Program Committee Report

Chris Robinson updated the committee on the meeting of the Technical Program Committee prior to this meeting. The 2015 Winter Meeting will have an emphasis on nuclear nonproliferation policy and Rian Bahran updated the committee on some of the sessions during that meeting, which will include high-level panelists and presenters. The committee voted to proceed to go to the NPC for the calendar placement of the 2016 Santa Fe Topical Meeting, which is co-sponsored by IRD.

#### 10. Honors and Awards Committee Report

Jim Behrens asked for approval of the Eisenhower Award recipient nominees, who are George Shultz and Sidney Drell. This award will be presented at November meeting. The committee voted to approve the two award recipients.

#### 11. Newsletter

Alicia Swift notified the committee to let her know if they want to input anything for the upcoming newsletter.

#### 12. Old Business

Jim Behrens updated the committee that the NNPD DTC made sure that the NNPD Bylaws and Charter were updated. They were written with the intent that we would become a division, so there were no major changes, mainly just changing 'NNTG' to 'NNPD.' Behrens will circulated the updated bylaws to the committee to make any further changes and then approve.

#### 13. New Business

Chair Morris Hassler appointed Rian Bahran as the new Technical Program Committee Chair.

#### 14. Adjourn

Chair Morris Hassler adjourned the meeting

## Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division Leadership Team – 2014-2015

Officers		Executive Committee		
		Term expires		
Chair	Morris Hassler	June 2015	June 2016	June 2017
Vice Chair	Gene Carpenter	Michaela Hoffman	Michael Baker	Rian Bahran
Secretary	Lenka Kollar	Robert Bari	Lenka Kollar	Steve Mladineo
Treasurer	Shaheen Dewji	Adam Stulberg	Sarah Poe	Chris Robinson
Past Chair	Steve Nesbit	Howard Hall	Luc Van Den Durpel	Mateusz Monterial

# Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy Division Website and Social Media Information

Website: <a href="http://nn.ans.org/">http://nn.ans.org/</a>

Facebook: <a href="http://www.facebook.com/groups/ansnntg/">http://www.facebook.com/groups/ansnntg/</a>

 ${\color{blue} \textbf{LinkedIn:}} \quad \underline{\textbf{http://www.linkedin.com/groups/Nuclear-Nonproliferation-Technical-Group-6509997/about} \\$